Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Font Size :


Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (IIT Kharagpur) is a public institute of technology research university established by the Government of India in Kharagpur, West Bengal, India. 

Established in 1951, the institute is the first of the IITs to be established and is recognised as an Institute of National Importance. In 2019 it was awarded the status of Institute of Eminence by the Government of India. IIT Kharagpur is ranked among the most prestigious academic institutions in India. 

The institute was initially established to train engineers after India attained independence in 1947. However, over the years, the nstitute's academic capabilities persified with offerings in management, law, architecture, humanities, etc. IIT Kharagpur has an 8.7-square-kilometre (2,100-acre) campus. 

IIT Kharagpur invites the best recruiters in the market during the internship and placement season covering various sectors such as Core Engineering, IT, Finance, Consulting, Automobiles, PSUs, etc. The sheer persity of recruiters across all domains and the extensive participation of overseas companies is an epitome of the global stature of the brand IIT Kharagpur

The Melbourne India Postgraduate Academy (MIPA) is a joint initiative consisting of established researchers and joint PhD candidates from the University of Melbourne and a group of India’s elite research universities that engage in projects that address key issues in science and technology.

Academics & school of studies: 

Faculty of Engineering and Architecture (FoE&A)

Aerospace Engineering

Agricultural and Food Engineering

Architecture and Regional Planning

Centre for Computational and Data Sciences

Centre For Railway Research

Centre of Excellence in Advanced Manufacturing Technology

Centre of Excellence in Advanced Transportation

Centre of Excellence in Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Centre of Excellence in Precision Agriculture & Food Nutrition

Chemical Engineering

Civil Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering

DRDO Industry Academia - Centre of Excellence (DIA-CoE)

Electrical Engineering

Electronics and Electrical Communication Engg.

Energy Science and Engineering

Environmental Science and Engineering

G.S Sanyal School of Telecommunication

Mechanical Engineering

Metallurgical and Materials Engineering

Mining Engineering

Ocean Engg and Naval Architecture

Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Mngt.

Rubber Technology

School of Water Resources

Steel Technology Centre

Subir Chowdhury School of Quality and Reliability

Faculty of Inter Disciplinary and Biotechnology & Biosciences

Bio Science


Centre of Excellence in Affordable Healthcare

Dr B C Roy Multi Speciality Medical Research Centre

P.K. Sinha Centre for Bioenergy and Renewables

School of Medical Science and Technology

Faculty of Interdisciplinary Sciences & Engineering

Academy of Classical and Folk Arts

Advanced Technology Development Centre

Centre of Excellence for Indian Knowledge Systems

Centre of Excellence on Safety Engineering & Analytics (COE-SEA)

Cryogenic Engineering

Deysarkar Centre of Excellence in Petroleum Engineering

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Kalpana Chawla Space Technology Cell

Materials Science Centre

Nano Science and Technology

Partha Ghosh Academy of Leadership

Rajendra Mishra School of Engg Entrepreneurship

Faculty of Sciences (FoS)

Centre for Ocean, River, Atmosphere and Land Sciences (CORAL)


Geology and Geophysics



School of Education

Faculty of Humanities, Social & Economic Sciences

Centre for Rural Development and Innovative Sustainable Technology

Humanities and Social Sciences

Rekhi Centre of Excellence for the Science of Happiness

School of Law

Rajiv Gandhi School of Intellectual Property Law

School of Management

Vinod Gupta School of Management

Contact Address:

Indian Institute Of Technology,

Kharagpur- 721 302

Ph:   +91 3222 255221

Fax: +913222 255303

Search this Site
dinamalar advertisement tariff

Copyright © 2024 rights reserved | Contact us