What is the eligibility to become an IAS? | Kalvimalar - News

What is the eligibility to become an IAS?- 17-Feb-2009

Font Size :

To write ICS examinations conducted by UPSC, certain prerequisites are needed.

Citizenship:   The applicant must be an Indian.

Age:   He/She must be above 21- but below 30 years on August 31 of the examination year.

Relaxation of Age:
For SC/ST- upto 35 years (5 years relaxation). They can apply until 35 years of age.
For OBC- upto 33 years (3 years relaxation) can apply until 33 years of age.
For Ex-serviceman upto 35 years (5 years relaxation) can apply upto 35 years. 
Note:  For age proof only Matriculation Certificate or Higher Secondary Certificate will be accepted.
Minimum educational qualification:
The applicant should be anUndergraduate from any recognized university. Those who have taken the final year examinations can apply. However, they must have obtained the degree before the commencement of the main examination. Professional degree holders like MBBS/BDS/BE., can also apply.

The number of times to appear:
It is appreciable to pass the IAS examinations  in the first attempt.  Great things can be  accomplished by joining service at a young age.  However, the applicants are permitted to write four times, and the OBC candidates can write seven times.

The SC/ST candidates can write several times until they complete 35 years.  They have to avail of every opportunity appropriately.   Participating in the preliminary examination or appearing for just one paper  is considered as an attempt.   Hence, it is better not to write the examination if you are not prepared for it. 

Physical standards:
The height for IAS or IPS service is for male  165 cm, for female 150 cm.
For SC/ST Male 160 cm, female --145 cm.
Normal chest size for male84 cm,   female70 cm, and must have minimum expansion, 5cm
Physically handicapped persons cannot become IPS, but they can join IAS/IRS/IAAS.

Fees:  There is no heavy fees for this. It is enough to pay just Rs.50/-. SC/ST candidates need not pay the fees at all.

Now to the ICS examinations: 1. Civil Service Preliminary examination.2. Civil Service Main examination.

1. Civil Services Preliminary examination:   It contains objective type of questions.   It is necessary to pass this to write the next examination.
2.  Civil Services Main examination:   This examination consists of written examination and an interview.  The successful candidates will be placed in different positions.

Search this Site
dinamalar advertisement tariff

Copyright © 2024 rights reserved | Contact us